Meet Wendall & Follow His Journey to Self-Respect

Mentors and Tormentors: a unique self-help book. Instead of a technical outline of motivational principles and laws of human behavior, it is a novel with a lesson in every chapter promoting self-respect. Wendall’s adventures add some fun and entertainment, which balance and reinforce the seriousness of the lessons.

Mentors and Tormentors is Tim Jones’s first literary work. The lessons and characters are loosely based on his own experiences and those of thousands of emergency room patients. Dr. Jones’s thirty years of experiencing their humanity have made him uniquely qualified to write this book. His objective is to make readers laugh and learn. Laugh at Wendall’s missteps and learn his lessons the easy way.

A short description of the chapters:

Introduction: Pay Attention and Ask Questions:

It’s surprising what you can learn if you pay attention and ask questions. Many of us worry that our questions will be stupid or embarrassing. In reality, there are no stupid questions because all questions can lead to knowledge. As for embarrassment, what is more embarrassing than pretending you know something only to have your ignorance eventually revealed to the world?

Chapter 1, The Two Secrets of Happiness:

There’s not one secret to happiness. There are two. Which one is more important than the other is open for debate. But who cares? You need both to be completely happy in life.

Chapter 2, Become a Bartender:

No, you won’t learn how to mix drinks in this chapter. Instead, Wendall is taught the simple and effective art of helping other people without becoming entangled in their problems.

Chapter 3, Running Interference:

Sometimes you do have to get involved in the problems facing your friends or loved ones by kicking butt – without being arrested of course. You just have to know how to do it.

Chapter 4, Slick ‘n’ Greasy:

A profane mechanic and the self-described master of indifference will teach you how to “not give a damn about what other people think.”

Chapter 5, The Three Bs:

The roots of ALL manipulation are based on the three Bs: Beg, Bargain, and Bully. You will meet three manipulators: an amateur, a journeyman, and a terrifying master of the three Bs.

Chapter 6, The One Person:

Using the three Bs is normal. Only one person in the history of the world did not use the three Bs. Hint: He wasn’t Jesus Christ.

Chapter 7, How to Say No:

It’s actually easier than you think – four simple, selfish steps. If other people still won’t accept your “No”, you can use the honest, ultimate excuse straight from “Doctor” Wendall.

Chapter 8, Prune Your Tree:

Who knew that our lives are just like trees? Many of us have “sucker” branches that sap our energy and weigh us down. Time to get out the pruning shears.

Chapter 9, Great Expectations:

Meet the most positive, overwhelmingly optimistic person imaginable, “Marvelous Marvin.” Wendall initially thought his affirmations and slogans were hilarious – until Wendall realized the guy was actually right.

Chapter 10, The Luckiest Man Alive:

Want to be lucky your entire life? Want to find the perfect mate and then enjoy a rock-solid marriage? Well, an old wheat farmer can tell you exactly how to do all three.

Chapter 11, The Mule-Headed Formula:

How to achieve or obtain anything you want. You have to want it bad and then follow the mule-headed formula. Be warned: You do have to be as stubborn as a mule for the formula to work.

Chapter 12, Pure Evil:

Do you think that everyone is basically good or at least redeemable? Think again. Real human monsters are rare, but they do exist. Hopefully, you will never meet one, but it’s best to be prepared just in case.

Chapter 13, Don’t Peck on Me:

Everyone has experienced bullying – either as a victim, bully, or bystander. Wendall finally learned his lesson, and then he triggered a raucous school board meeting that was better than Monday Night Football.

Chapter 14, The Con:

Wendall learned the three lies that are always present in a Con – but only after losing his money and suffering the humiliation of standing before a municipal judge.

Chapter 15, Emotional Fatigue:

Just like the old haybarn on Wendall’s farm, everyone has a breaking point. You just have to realize what is happening to you before you snap.

Chapter 16, Respect Yourself:

If you’re too busy to read the entire book, at least read this short chapter. It begins on page 228 and ends on page 230.

Interested In Purchasing
Your Own Copy?

Check the area below for retailers selling the book.

Read the Bonus Chapter: How to Say “No” Part II

Who knew that a children’s book can teach us the importance of saying no? When Wendall was eight years old, he read, Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, by Dr. Seuss. Thidwick is the story of a big, slow, kind-hearted moose who befriends a tiny bingle bug. The bingle asks him for a ride on his antlers. Of course, the little bug doesn’t weigh more than a single blade of grass, so what could be the harm? Thidwick says yes to his new friend’s seemingly insignificant request.

Want to read more?

Pick up your copy of Mentors and Tormentors At These Fine Retailers


Contact Tim Jones here